What Works (Week 1)

Florida man robbed, killed after online dateĀ 

(I think the story first broke here.)

I initially clicked on this story because I have noticed that there are always interesting or strange news stories that come out of Florida. I also was drawn to the mention of the robbery and murder happening after an online date. I think that it is SEO friendly because it is such a specific story. I accidentally exited the page and I only had to use four or five words to find dozens of articles about the story.

I think that the story uses a narrative lead because instead of diving straight into the murder/robbery issue, it focuses on the online dating aspect of the story. I think that is what draws you into the story because it seems like something that would be on a dramatized crime show. The victim was a “good guy” character looking for love and was brought to his demise by a coldhearted woman.

This story uses the victim’s brother, a certified matchmaker and a chief deputy as sources.

To add value to the story, I think it would be interesting to have an infographic or chart showing similar crimes that have occured as online dating has gained popularity over the years.

One thought on “What Works (Week 1)

Leave a Reply

